Composers, performers, and writers of music; styles, terms and genres, regions, countries and cities; bibliographies; instruments and their history. Oxford Music Online is a gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. Includes access to: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Aids online research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice, providing links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites.
Devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference, and includes more than 7,300 bibliographies and reference sources (both print and online). This site will help you locate citations for research materials, with some materials in full text.
Covers historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, music therapy and other fields as they relate to music, including literature, dramatic arts and visual arts as well as anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics.
On-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. More than 4,000 albums' worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 42 independent labels and archives are now available, with new content being continuously added.
The Naxos Music Library consists of over 75,000 tracks of music, continuously added to with new releases from the Naxos music label as well as other leading labels. Extensive background information such as complete liner notes is included. Music is streamed at 64K, or 20K for users on dial-up modems.
Collection of 1,500+ jazz recordings, streamed at 64K (20K for dial-up). The recordings include many from the specialist jazz label Fantasy, as well as releases from Naxos and Marco Polo Da Capo. New releases added regularly.
Classical Scores Library will contain 15,000 classical scores digitized from both editions either in-copyright or in the public domain. Both major and less-known composers are represented. The database includes material from Boosey and Hawkes and some from the University Music Editions microfilm series. The collection includes compositions from all periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions of pieces. The database is indexed to provide searches in musically relevant fields, including: composer, title of work, opus number, key, genre, instrument(s), and time period. Specific fields for scores include: score type, duration, editor, arranger, and publisher. New scores are still being added.
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana is a search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society. Funded through a National Leadership Grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), IN Harmony features Indiana-related sheet music - sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state. The IN Harmony open source sheet music cataloging software is available at http://inharmonycat.sourceforge.net/.
You can search the entire collection of sheet music by entering a term in the search box in the top right corner.
The archive includes sheet music for film, cue sheets, instruction manuals for film accompanists, and a bibliography of resources on silent film sound and music. All of the silent film music archived here is available to download for free. It can be used for scholarship and research, lectures, to accompany showings of silent films, as the basis for the creation of new scores for old or new movies, and a myriad of other projects calling for music from the silent era.
1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Offers free live broadcasting of concerts, operas and ballets along with video on demand from their catalogue of concerts and classical music documentaries. With over 1,200 films, medici.tv is the largest online catalogue made up of classical music programmes and it features the greatest artists and composers. medici.tv also associates with great orchestras and concert halls around the world in order to broadcast live and free of charge some of the greatest musical events on the internet, mobiles, tablets and connected Tvs.