Sociology at Trinity
A Wordle (word cloud) of Trinity sociology faculty research interests
Databases for Sociology
-
Alternative Press IndexBibliographic coverage, with some full text, of alternative journals, magazines, and newspapers offering an alternative, radical, or left perspective. Includes titles like Historical Materialism, The Nation, Science & Society, Monthly Review. Both popular and more scholarly publications are included.
-
Communication and Mass Media CompleteFor sociological aspects of language, discourse, media, etc.
-
Gallup BrainA public opinion database, from the last 70 years of public opinion surveys. Also includes some data analysis.
-
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)Trinity University is a member institution of ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research), which maintains and provides access to an archive of digital social science data for research and instruction. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects. Trinity University participates in ICPSR Direct, which gives Trinity users easy access to more than 6,200 studies.
-
SocINDEX with Full TextFull-text access to many journals in sociology, as well as indexing of books, conference papers, and other sources.
-
Social Services AbstractsProfessional literature on community development, crisis intervention, evaluation research, family and social welfare, gerontology, and more.
Sociology in Pictures
"Chelsea Bridge Rockers." 2010. Photograph by Triton Rocker, curtesy of Creative Commons.
See this image guide for help finding images.