Skip to main content

Services for Off-Campus Users

The following suggestions and resources may be helpful for students, faculty, and others conducting research off-campus during the balance of the spring 2020 semester.

Library Service March 16-May 16

Information about hours and the current status of library operations is available at the library homepage. 

Information on current campus operations is available at the Trinity website.

NEW: Circulation Access and Procedures beginning March 20, 2020

NEW: Problems with Accessing Library Resources Using the VPN

Students and faculty using the VPN to access campus resources may have difficulty when using library databases and other research options.

Off-campus users of library resources should navigate through the proxy login process.  This happens automatically when you try to access a library database while off campus.  However, due to changes by ITS to help facilitate distance learning, a researcher using the VPN may not be able to navigate through the proxy login screen.  

Solution: when using the library webpage and resources, do not use VPN.  

Electronic Databases, Journals, Ebooks, and More

Students, faculty, and staff working away from campus can continue to utilize electronic databases, journals, ebooks, and streaming media available from the library website. 

A select number of resources are licensed for on-campus use only.  A list of those resources is forthcoming.  In the interim, we are working with those database providers to try to secure off-campus access.

Online Newspapers

Use Google Scholar Remotely

While the links above will direct you to the full range of electronic journals and books available from the library, Google Scholar also has an option to link to many full-text articles:  

1.  Go to scholar.google.com
2.  Go to the Menu icon in the upper left hand corner of the screen. 
3.  Choose "Settings."
4.  Choose "Libraries"
5.  Search for and select "Elizabeth Huth Coates Library" and click "Save."

Interlibrary Loan for Print Sources

Use the library's Interlibrary Loan service to request scanned copies of journal articles available in our library in print form only. In addition, you may request electronic delivery of chapters from books that are currently available in print from the library. While it would be difficult at this time to offer more than specific chapters, we hope that this service option will support faculty and student researchers in need of items available only in print.

At the present time, requesting and receiving print materials from other libraries is a more challenging process than usual. If your immediate research needs involve print materials that are not available from the Coates Library, contact your library liaison for assistance. 

Interlibrary Loan for Electronic Sources

We will continue to request, receive, and distribute materials received electronically via Interlibrary Loan. 

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections and Archives staff can provide remote research services for our students and faculty. As always, scans of archival materials remain free of cost to members of the Trinity community. For more information, visit the Special Collections and Archives webpage or contact them at archives@trinity.edu.