Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Inclusion and Learners with Exceptionalities

Current Student Opportunities

Diverse Book Finder Report Review & Collection Analysis

Review the collection analysis of Trinity's children's/YA books conducted by Diverse BookFinder. Identify areas most in need of additional representation. Potentially, use existing analytical categories to conduct original analysis of other items in the collection outside the purview of DBF, such as older titles, easy readers/chapter books, etc.

Collection Development

Consolidate and rank past student book recommendations, not all of which have been purchased yet. Identify and recommend additional titles to improve representation of diverse life experiences and books that feature social justice/diversity concepts.

Web Accessibility Improvements

After an initial review of articles on web accessibility and universal design, conduct a review of this libguide and make recommendations for improvements. May include creation of additional materials as necessary.

Past Student Projects

Collection Analysis

Review existing Coates Library children's/YA collection using subject headings and book-by-book review to analyze type and depth of disability portrayals. Document notes and record additional analysis by race, ethnicity, and gender.

Collection Development

Identify and recommend additional titles for purchase based on contributions to collection diversity, especially in terms of disability portrayals. Use IRIS and other lists (such as NYPL) to discover titles.

Spine Stickers

Develop a spine sticker labeling system to help people browsing the collection find different types of books:

images of spine sticker labels for books