Find an Object
- San Antonio Museum of ArtThe San Antonio Museum of Art is a great place to find an object for your observation and research. Check their website for current COVID protocols if you would like to visit in person. Some objects from the "Art of the Ancient Mediterranean World" collection are also available to view online.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is an incredibly vast online collection of art work from museums around the world. For HUMA material culture research assignments, try using their curated object lists to find an object. Try browsing some of their Ancient Mediterranean collections, such as Greek Vases & Other Selected Greek Art.
Find Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Dictionary of Classical MythologyISBN: 9781782976363
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowDescribed as a "dictionary," Oxford Art Online is more like an extensive art database, searchable by region, artist, type of art or structure, medium, and more. Contains both brief, factual articles as well as more extensive history,
The Oxford Classical DictionaryISBN: 9780199545568
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and ArchitectureISBN: 9780195300826
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeISBN: 9780195170726
Women and war: A historical encyclopedia from antiquity to the presentISBN: 9781851097708
The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman CoinageISBN: 9780195305746
The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Anatolia,10,000-323 B.C.E.ISBN: 9780195376142
The Oxford Handbook of Hellenic StudiesISBN: 9780199286140
The Oxford Handbook of Roman StudiesISBN: 9780199211524
The Oxford Handbook of Social Relations in the Roman WorldISBN: 9780195188004
The Oxford Handbook of the Bronze Age AegeanISBN: 9780199873609
Find Scholarly Articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThe JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from more than 100 scholarly journals published by Carnegie Mellon, Duke, Indiana, Johns Hopkins, MIT, Oxford and Penn State university presses, as well as the presses of the Universities of Hawaii, Texas, and Wisconsin.
- L'annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowSubtitled a Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, this is an international bibliography of all aspects of classical studies,
including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, paleography, history, philosophy, epigraphy, numismatics, papyrology, ancient art, religion, law, and culture.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly, multi-discipline, full text journal database designed specifically for academic institutions. Covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, film and teaching with an extensive collection of full text.
Chicago Style Citations
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThis is the required citation style for Dr. KBM's classes. Example below:
