LibGuides: FYE: HUMA, Great Books of the Ancient World: Find Scholarly Articles

Start here

There are three main ways of finding scholarly articles.

Review the works cited in your course readings, and pay attention to any professor recommendations. Use the library databases to gain access to articles, the library catalog to look up books, or interlibrary loan to request either books or articles we don't have.
Use the search on the main library website to find articles, books, news, media, and more. You can also search in specialized databases for almost any subject. Here are a few:
- Law
- Film
- Education
Practice searching references and tracking citations. References are the works cited, and citations are articles that cite the one you are reading. Both are great ways of finding related articles.

Understanding the parts of a scholarly article: When you find something to review, it is important to pay attention to all the headings and information. You might need all of it or just some of it.

Understand the parts of a scholarly article: NC State Library has a great overview that can be found here

Find Articles in Library Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
varies;Most articles are older than the past 3-5 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from more than 100 scholarly journals published by Carnegie Mellon, Duke, Indiana, Johns Hopkins, MIT, Oxford and Penn State university presses, as well as the presses of the Universities of Hawaii, Texas, and Wisconsin.
L'annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Subtitled a Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, this is an international bibliography of all aspects of classical studies,
including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, paleography, history, philosophy, epigraphy, numismatics, papyrology, ancient art, religion, law, and culture.

1924-present
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-discipline, full text journal database designed specifically for academic institutions. Covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
1984-present
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, film and teaching with an extensive collection of full text.
1920's-present

Use Google Scholar

GoogleScholar

Use Google Scholar to find sources and to view bibliographies for articles or to conduct a citation review of sources that cite a particular work.