Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Communication Subject Guide

This guide offers suggestions for locating materials related to courses in the Human Communication section of the Human Communication and Theater department.

International Encyclopedia of Communication

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric. (Reference) PN 172 E52 2001
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: Communication From Ancient Times to... (Ref) PN 172 E53 1996

Handbook of International and Intercultural Communication. P 94.6 H36 2002
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication . BF 637 C45 H287 1994
Handbook of Rhetorical and Communication Theory.  P 90 H296 1984
Human Communication Theory and Research. 
(Electronic Book)

Related Resources

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies  P 87.5 W38 2006

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information  P 87.5 E53 2002 (3 vols.)

Historical Dictionary of Political Communication in the United States JA 85.2 U6 H57 1999

International Encyclopedia of Communications P 87.5 I5 1989

Speeches

American Speeches: Political Oratory from the Revolution to the Civil War  
E183 .A497 2006

Effective Presentation Skills: A Practical Guide for Better Speaking 
PN 4121 M3194 2000

High Impact Speeches: How to Create and Deliver Words that Move Minds 
PN4193.B8 H45 2003

Penguin Book of 20th-century Speeches 
D411 .P46 1999

Writing Great Speeches: Professional Techniques that You Can Use 
PN4142 .P47 1998