It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Human Communication Subject Guide
This guide offers suggestions for locating materials related to courses in the Human Communication section of the Human Communication and Theater department.
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.
The films allow unlimited simultaneous access and can be watched from anywhere by all students, faculty, and staff. All videos have full public performance rights as long as groups do not charge admission for showing the film. The video platform allows users to create personal accounts to store playlists and clips and both clips and full titles can be embedded and linked through Learning Management Systems.
Films On Demand combines our newest videos with many of our best-selling programs to provide you with an up-to-date, cross-curricular digital library that spans high school, advanced placement and college needs. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
This database includes digital images of art and material culture from the Carnegie Arts of the United States Collection, the Huntington Archive of Asian Art, the Illustrated Bartsch, the Mellon International Danhuang Archive (MIDA), the Museum of Modern Art Architecture and Design Collection, and the Image Gallery, ARTstor`s own collection of images for the teaching of art history and other fields in the humanities and social sciences. This latter collection includes over 4,000 images in the Art History Survey Collection, images selected on the basis of a concordance of ten standard art history survey texts.