Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's and Gender Studies

Women's Resource Center

The Women's Resource Center is located on the 4th floor of Coates Library.

Ruth McLean Bowman Bowers was known for her charitable activities throughout the world on behalf of women and others, and in support of medical research, education, reproductive rights, and many diverse issues. A longtime benefactor of Trinity, she contributed funds, served as a Trustee, and encouraged University programs, including annual Women’s History Month activities on campus. Several buildings on campus are named in honor of her parents, including the University’s Marrs McLean Science Center, a critical center of science education, and the Verna McLean Residence Hall, which is home to nearly 250 undergraduates every semester.

The Ruth McLean Bowman Bowers Foundation has made a $500,000 gift to Trinity University to establish the Ruth McLean Bowman Bowers Women’s Studies Resource Center at the University. The gift will be used to endow a lecture every March – celebrated as Women’s History Month – in honor of Bowers and to help create a resource center where scholars from across curricular disciplines will meet, conduct research, and discuss a broad array of women and gender issues.

Mrs. Bowers' gift enabled the purchase of two fine research databases which offer our students the ability to mine primary materials from women throughout U.S. history:  North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Colonial to 1950) and Women and Social Movements, Scholar's Edition. These databases allow precise keyword searching or browsing of hundreds of thousands of documents. See the "Online Research" tab above to access.

Reference books located in the Women's Resource Center

BT 83.55 D53 1996 Dictionary of Feminist Theologies
GV709 .S44 1996 Encyclopedia of Women in Sports
HQ 1115 G74 2003 Greenwood Enc. Of Women's Issues Worldwide (6 vols.)
HQ 1115 R69 2000 Routledge Int. Enc. Of Women (4 vols.)
HQ 1127 S25 2001 Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World
HQ 1180 R43 1998 Readers Guide to Women's Studies
HQ 1185 E63 2005 Encyclopedia of Women's Autobiography (2 vols.)
HQ 1236.5 U6 S32 1999 From Suffrage to Senate (2 vols.)
HQ 1236.5 U6 W663 Women in Modern American Politics: a bibliography 1900-1995
HQ1143 .L38 2001 Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages
KF 478 W674 Women's Legal Guide
LC 1569 W66 2002 Women in Higher Education: an encyclopedia
N 8354 D53 1997 Dictionary of Women Artists
PN 56.5 W64 W65 2003 Women in literature: Reading Through the Lens of Gender
PS 147 D385 1996 Women Writers in the United States
PS 151 C66 2002 Contemporary American Women Writers: An A-to-Z Guide
PS 151 C665 2002 Contemporary American Women Poets: An A-to-Z Guide
Q 141 B5295 2000 Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Q 141 O27 2002 International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists
QH 26 W66 1997 Women in the biological sciences: a biobibliographic sourcebook
R 692 W545 2002 Women in Medicine: an encyclopedia
UB 418 W65 F75 1996 Women in the United States Military, 1901-1995: a research guide