Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current Status of Library Services

The following suggestions and resources may be helpful for students, faculty, and others conducting research in the library or remotely during the fall 2020 semester.

Library Services: Current Status

Information about hours and the current status of library operations are available at the library homepage. 

Information on campus operations more broadly can be found at the Trinity website.

Circulation Access and Procedures beginning August 17, 2020

Visitors to the library building will notice a number of changes to help facilitate responsible use of library spaces and resources. Many of these will be evident upon arrival. 

--The library is card-access only for the foreseeable future.

--Masks should be worn at all times when using the library.

--Directional signage intended to help maintain appropriate social distancing protocols should be clear to all visitors. 

--Study rooms are closed for the fall semester. 

--After circulated materials are returned or print materials are used in the library, these items will be quarantined for 7 days. 

--Current periodicals and newspapers are now housed in closed stacks. Visit the library's front desk to request these materials.

--Reserve materials held behind the front desk may no longer be browsed by patrons. 

If you have any questions about these or other changes to our current services and operations, please Contact Us. 

Interlibrary Loan for Print Sources

Students studying remotely:

Use the library's interlibrary loan service to request scanned copies of journal articles available in print in our library. In addition, you may request electronic delivery of chapters from books that are currently available from the library.  Fair use guidelines for educational use allow for one chapter or 20% of a book to be scanned, so be aware that we cannot scan and deliver multiple chapters from a single book. By acquiring a library card from your local public library, you will have access to that library's interlibrary loan service, which may be able to provide you with needed books to supplement what we are able to supply. We regret that we are unable to send physical items to you.

Students and faculty with access to campus:

If you are able, please come to the library to consult or scan pages from print journals or books. If you are unable to do so, you may use the library's interlibrary loan service to request scanned copies of journal articles available in print in our library. In addition, you may request electronic delivery of chapters from books that are currently available in print from the library. Fair use guidelines for educational use allow for one chapter or 20% of a book to be scanned, so be aware that we cannot scan and deliver multiple chapters. 

At the present time, requesting and receiving print materials from other libraries is a more challenging process than usual. If your immediate research needs involve print materials that are not available from the Coates Library, contact your library liaison for assistance. 

Interlibrary Loan for Electronic Sources

We will continue to request, receive, and distribute materials received electronically via Interlibrary Loan. 

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections and Archives staff can provide remote research services for our students and faculty. As always, scans of archival materials remain free of cost to members of the Trinity community. Materials may be consulted in-person by appointment only. For more information, visit the Special Collections and Archives webpage or contact them at archives@trinity.edu.

Electronic Databases, Journals, Ebooks, and More

Students, faculty, and staff working away from campus can continue to utilize electronic databases, journals, ebooks, and streaming media available from the library website. 

Online Newspapers

Use Google Scholar Remotely

While the links above will direct you to the full range of electronic journals and books available from the library, Google Scholar also has an option to link to many full-text articles:  

1.  Go to scholar.google.com
2.  Go to the Menu icon in the upper left hand corner of the screen. 
3.  Choose "Settings."
4.  Choose "Libraries"
5.  Search for and select "Elizabeth Huth Coates Library" and click "Save."

Federal Depository

Due to the Coates Library's card-only-access policy for fall 2020, San Antonio community members' access to the library's federal depository collection of government documents is limited. This is in compliance with GPO guidance. 

Problems with Accessing Library Resources Using the VPN

Students and faculty using the VPN to access campus resources may have difficulty when using library databases and other research options.

Off-campus users of library resources should navigate through the proxy login process.  This happens automatically when you try to access a library database while off campus.  However, due to changes by ITS to help facilitate distance learning, a researcher using the VPN may not be able to navigate through the proxy login screen.  

Solution: when using the library webpage and resources, do not use VPN.