Want to schedule a research consultation? Send me an email at email@example.com, or drop by my open office hours on Monday and Wednesday from 3-5 pm. Find me on Google Chat (firstname.lastname@example.org), DM me on Zoom, or text 520.370.9973.
Developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCOs Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), this is the premier research database for Communication Studies. This comprehensive resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
Useful for conducting research on media sociology, which Walsbord defines as "research that situates communication and media research within the dynamics of social forces and links them to questions about order, conflict, identity, institutions, stratification, authority, community, and power" (2016).
Includes many scholarly journals in communication and related disciplines such as marketing, film studies, and gender studies. I've linked to JSTOR's advanced search so you can limit by discipline. Also, you can limit your searches to research articles only, useful because JSTOR has loads of book reviews.
Scholar is not as precise as some of the other databases on this guide, but it may link to full-text articles where other databases do not. Scholar also allows you to gauge the influence of scholarship by tracking the number of times other sources have cited a given article (or book, etc.). Look for the "cited by" link below each reference.