Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CLAS 1305: Classical Mythology (Pache)

This guide offers starting points for your research in Dr. Pache's course on Classical Mythology.

Conducting Research on Classical Mythology Topics

The resources on this page offer introductory and overview information on topics related to the study of classical mythologies.  Databases and websites listed on the Primary Sources page include alphabetic texts, visuals, and other resources that would meet the definition of a "primary" source.  If you have questions about finding resources or experience difficulties with access, please contact the liaison librarian for Classical Studies Benjamin Harris at bharris@trinity.edu. 

Library Reference Sources Online

When searching reference sources for background or contextual information, keep your initial searches simple and broad. Then, narrow as appropriate to find useful entries and texts. 

Print Reference Sources

The following encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are available in the reference collection on the third floor of the library. 

Brill's New Pauly. Encyclopedia of the Ancient World.  REF DE 5 P33213

Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization. REF DE 5 C28 2006

Dictionary of Classical Mythology.  REF BL 715 G713 1986

Dictionary of Classical Mythology: Symbols, Attributes, and Associations. REF BL 715 B44 1982

Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World. REF DF 16 S23 1995

Greek and Egyptian Mythologies. REF BL 782 D47713 1992

Oxford Classical Dictionary. 3rd ed. REF DE 5 O9 1996

Who's Who in the Greek World. REF DE 7 H39 2000

Cambridge Companion Series

Cambridge University Press publishes companions on a variety of topics that may be of interest to classicists. The following titles were published recently and are available in the library stacks:

Cambridge Companion to Archaic Greece  (DF77 .C317 2007)

Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Theatre  (PA3201 .C26 2007)

Cambridge Companion to Greek Mythology  (BL783 .C36 2007)

Cambridge Companion to the Greek and Roman Novel  (PA3040 .C36 2008)

Cambridge Companion to the Hellenistic World  (DE86 .C35 2006)

Reference Sources on the Internet