This LibGuide is intended for students taking ECON 4370 who are doing original research, creating a model, and testing a hypothesis –– and/or for those students searching for data sources to be used for modeling in Stata or other software programs.
The World Bank DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and save, embed, and share them. Use the search feature to explore the different database titles. Remember to look at the World Development Indicators (WDI), as this is the primary collection for development indicators. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development allows you to make your own queries using large databases in their data warehouse, OECD.Stat. This is a prime database for international economic data.
To do a keyword search, you may try using their search feature on the main Data page: https://data.oecd.org/
This is the comprehensive UN data resource. Although there is some overlap with World Bank data, there is much that is unique here. I recommend using both WDI and UN data to get a thorough and comprehensive perspective.
ILOSTAT provides you with comprehensive international data across a wide range of labor-related topics from over 200 countries and territories. Topics covered include: population and labor force; employment/unemployment; wages; working time; collective bargaining; labor migrants; child labor; informal economy; labor costs; inflation; and many more.
This database focuses on gender discrimination and obstacles to women's development at an international level. It covers a total of 160 countries and comprises an array of 60 indicators on gender discrimination.
Founded in 1999, Global Integrity is an independent, nonprofit organization tracking governance and corruption trends around the world using local teams of researchers and journalists to monitor openness and accountability. Global Integrity's analytical method is based on the concept of measuring the "opposite of corruption"–that is, the access that citizens and businesses have to a country's government, their ability to monitor its behavior, and their ability to seek redress and advocate for improved governance. The resulting data allows policymakers, private industry, non-governmental organizations and the general public to identify specific strengths and weaknesses in various countries' governmental institutions.
From website: "GFD specializes in historical data that extends from the 1000s to present, beyond what traditional data vendors can offer. Perform complete analysis on 200 countries and create superior forecasting models for developed and emerging markets on total returns, U.S. stocks, fixed income, equity and economic data."