This LibGuide is intended for students taking ECON 4370 who are doing original research, creating a model, and testing a hypothesis –– and/or for those students searching for data sources to be used for modeling in Stata or other software programs.
You know that the US government collects and disseminates an abundance of data and statistics. You will absolutely be able to find an area/topic that suits your interests or is at least adjacent to your interests. Whether you are interested in labor, housing, demography, crime, geography, epidemiology... the US government has collected and made available raw data about it that you can use to create your models and test your hypotheses.
If you are someone who has been using AFF, please note that as of July 2019, data.census.gov will be the primary way to access Census Bureau data. American FactFinder will be open as an archive of Census data until May 2020.
The widely used FRED® data service is updated daily and allows 24/7 access to over 500,000 financial and economic data series from more than 85 public and proprietary sources. Research economists at FRED produced high-quality original research in the areas of macroeconomics, money and banking, and applied microeconomics. You can find data as well as research articles and working papers here.
Includes current data on: inflation and prices; employment; unemployment; pay and benefits; spending and time use; productivity; workplace injuries; and more. This is an excellent source to find the data and also a great place to brainstorm topics if you're feeling stuck.
This database contains information about how candidates and committees raise and spend money in federal elections. You can search by candidate or committee profile, or by individual contributor name. For your project, it might be best to use the "Download Bulk Data" tool, where you can find data from statements and reports filed with the Commission in a form that may be useful for performing in-depth campaign finance research. Data in updated daily or weekly, depending on set.
The BEA is part of the US Department of Commerce. To use this resource, I would recommend exploring the page via topic. Then, under TOOLS, select "Interactive Tool" to select your data. For example, I recommend using the Regional Data (which includes state-level data) related to GDP and economic growth. These datasets are updated monthly at the end of the month.
The NCHS is a branch of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This website includes links to many health-related data sources, some of which are available for downloadable public-use (linked here). Users have access to documentation, data sets, and questionnaires. Areas of research available here include: National Health Care Surveys; National Vital Statistics System; National Survey of Family Growth; National Immunization Survey; and more.
Explore all the datasets available here by topic (by clicking on the "Data Collections" tab and selecting a topic), or just scroll down and explore what is available. Some examples of data collections include: Annual Survey of Jails; Recidivism of State Prisoners; Indian Country Justice Statistics (in tribal lands); and many more. Please note that some of the datasets are current and some are from the 1980s and 1990s.
NIJ is the research, development and evaluation agency of the US Department of Justice. Since 1978, NIJ has been accumulating an archive of hundreds of data sets resulting from projects funded through research grant programs. NIJ partners with two other Office of Justice Programs agencies, the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), to support the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD). It is now hosted by ICPSR at the University of Michigan. You must CREATE AN ACCOUNT in order to access the data and descriptions. Note that there are almost 2,000 data sets that are already formatted for STATA, and an additional thousands more formatted for SPSS, SAS, R, and other programs. I would recommend exploring all the coverage they have through the index.
Includes current data on: petroleum & other liquids; coal; natural gas; renewable & alternative fuels; nuclear energy; electricity; energy consumption & efficiency; and more. Click on "Sources & Uses" to get to specific topics as well as to the A-Z index (scroll down in the pop-up window for the A-Z index).