Librarian
How to Google for Primary Sources
Combine these search terms with topical keywords to find primary sources from cultural heritage or educational organizations.
|
primary sources archives special collection library or museum |
exhibition digital exhibit digital collection papers or manuscripts |
teacher's kit curriculum lesson plans learning objects |
You can also try format-specific searches, such as
|
account ledgers acts archival footage audio clippings correspondence diaries deeds ephemera film / video financial records govt. publications handbooks |
invitations lab notebooks legal records legislation letters maps memoirs menus military orders newspapers oral histories pamphlets paintings |
photographs polls posters press releases prints reports scrapbooks sermons speeches telegraphs treaties tickets wills |
Adapted from a handout by Robin M. Katz [pdf]
Some Online Repositories of Primary Sources
- African-American HeritageThis subject portal highlights records of Federal agencies and collections that relate to Black life during the World War I Era. The selected records contain information on various topics, which include work, military involvement, arts & intellectuals, racial violence and the Great Migration. It also includes records on several individuals, including Ida B. Wells-Barnett, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey, Paul Robeson, Mary Church Terrell and Jack Johnson.
- Black FreedomFeatures ~1600 primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history, from 1790 to 2000.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Includes many primary sources and other public domain materials.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveThe Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.