Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases & Resources for Leisure Use

Highlighting fun online resources for faculty, student and staff use.

Resources for Genealogists

Local History and Genealogy Resources LibGuide provides a guide to the local history and genealogy resources online and at Coates Library. 

Newspapers
Key family information can be found in newspaper obituaries and wedding notices. Here are a few of our more unique news databases; click
here for a full listing.

African American Newspapers enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.

Chronicling America provides information about historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and select digitized newspaper pages from 1836-1922. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. 

NewspaperARCHIVE bills itself as the world's best resource for historical and genealogical information. Their unique archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.

San Antonio Express News documents the city's transformation from a rough frontier town to a major metropolitan center, and offers a uniquely Lone Star perspective on local, state, national and international news.

Trinity University Publications carries digitized back files of the Mirage and the Trinitonian (1869-2017). 

Biography Databases
Do you have a vaguely famous person in your family tree? Did your ancestor design stages for Broadway musicals in the Roaring Twenties or write the standard textbook for Latin grammar at the turn of the century? Look them up in one of these biography databases.