Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases & Resources for Leisure Use

Highlighting fun online resources for faculty, student and staff use.

Resources for historians

Click here for a complete listing of all of our history-related databases. Local History and Genealogy Resources LibGuide provides a guide to the local history and genealogy resources online and at Coates Library.

Cambridge History Online covers 14 subject areas including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy and Religious Studies. 

Chronicling America provides information about historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and select digitized newspaper pages from 1836-1922. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American Newspaper published between 1690-present. 

Life Magazine features story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicts national and international events, topical stories and intimate views of real people and their real-life situations. 

Pop Culture Universe: Icons | Idols | Ideas is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, from the 1920s to the present.

Trinity History
Trinity University
Publications
offers digitized back files of the Mirage and the Trinitonian (1869-2017).

Trinity University Historical Images Collection includes photographs documenting Trinity University's history from 1869 to the present. The historic images in the collection range in date throughout the University's first 100 years and are divided into 4 subject categories (based on the University's geographic location): the Tehuacana Images (1869-1902), the Waxahachie Images (1902-1942), the Woodlawn: San Antonio Images (1942-1952), and the Skyline Campus: San Antonio Images (mid 1950s-present).


undefined

[awaxathletic12], Trinity University History, Elizabeth Huth Coates Library Special Collections & Archives, Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas.