Keywords in Context
Thanks to Google Books' page snippets, you can search topic keywords/phrases and read them in context, giving you a more definite sense of a book's relevance to your research. Use this technique to determine which books to borrow, or to expand your working bibliography.
You can search the full text of Coates Library's ebooks in exactly this way, and then download the book section you need. For help using our ebook collection, see the Tips and Tools tab of this research guide.
Scholarly Article Databases
-
Political Science CompleteContains full text for over 400 journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 2,000 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), including British Politics, Ethnopolitics and the Journal of Women, Politics & Policy. Political Science Complete has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
-
JSTORThe JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
Finding Books
-
Coates Library Catalog
Use this catalog to find books and media available at Trinity. To find e-books, scope your search as pictured above. Skim the entire record entry for additional search help in the form of subject keywords, tables of contents, and publisher summaries. Check the Tips and Tools tab of this guide for additional help on downloading e-books. -
Internet ArchiveUse the Internet Archive to search for digital copies of books the library has only in print. Thanks to a program called controlled digital lending, you can check out and download these books as if they were physical copies on library shelves. You will need to create an account in order to borrow books.
-
Google BooksUse Google Books to find page previews of scholarly monographs, or to find your keywords in context in order to assess a book's relevance to your topic. See the right-hand column for more information.
