Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology Subject Guide

This guide will help you locate information in the biological sciences. The materials may also be of use for research in the related areas of environmental science and engineering, biotechnology, medicine, and agriculture.

Internet Sites

Human Genome Research Institute - This U.S. government site provides excellent general research information on genetics and bioethics.

PLANTS National Database Home Page - "The PLANTS Database provides a single source of standardized information about plants. PLANTS provides standardized plant names, symbols and other plant attribute information."

American Society for Microbiology - The ASM is the oldest and largest single life science membership organization in the world with over 40,000 members worldwide. This site gives full information about the organization and its activities. The section on "ASM Programs, Products, and Services" allows access to browse current tables of contents of the twelve journals published by ASM.

Encyclopedia of Earth
This new electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society was started in 2007. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, and professionals.

Smithsonian Natural History Web Home Page - In addition to descriptions of current exhibits and programs, this web page provides access to the research and collections databases supporting activities of the National Museum of Natural History.

Darwin Online - "This site contains Darwin's complete publications, 20,000 private papers, the largest Darwin bibliography, manuscript catalogue and hundreds of supplementary works: specimens, biographies, obituaries, reviews, reference works and much more."

NatureServe Explorer - A resource for information on 100,000 species and ecosystems in the Americas.

Electronic BIOLOGIA CENTRALI-AMERICANA - This digital edition of the out-of-print Biologia Centrali-Americana, now more than 100 years old, will eventually make all 58 biological volumes available.  Included are descriptions of over 50,000 and wonderful images of over 18,000 species of animals and plants from Mexico and Central America.

Grants- A list of databases and websites to search for grants for funding.

Allen Brain Atlas - Developed by the Allen Institute for Brain Science, the Allen Brain Atlas is a freely available scientific resource which provides maps of the expression of approximately 20,000 genes in the mouse brain.  This site also includes images of genes in the human cortex.

BirdLife International: State of the World's Birds - Important research papers featured on this site are divided into four sections that include an introduction and three additional sections that cover why birds are declining, the current state of information about bird populations, and what can be done to improve the status of birds around the world.

eBirds - Created by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and National Audubon Society, this site brings together data on bird sightings from citizen scientists.  A great resource if you are looking for information on the ranges of different bird spies.

Frogs: A Chorus of Colors - Enjoy the sights and sounds of a major exhibition on frogs, produced by the American Museum of Natural History.

Cornell's Macalulay Library - "The Macaulay Library is the world's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings."

Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON) - "a product of the U.S. Geological Survey's Core Science Analytics and Synthesis Program. BISON is an information system that allows users to access, explore, and download U.S. species occurrence data from participating data providers."

Visualization and Animation

These last two sites are samples of the use of 3D visualization and animation in modern biological teaching. You may need to load special helper applications for the sound and movies that are used in many of these productions.

Biology in Motion -- provides interactive education activities such as Evolution Lab, to investigate how natural selection works, and a Cell Division exercise.  Useful for teachers working in classrooms at the elementary or secondary level.

LBL IYTG Whole Frog Project -- from the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory