Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology Subject Guide

This guide will help you locate information in the biological sciences. The materials may also be of use for research in the related areas of environmental science and engineering, biotechnology, medicine, and agriculture.

Call Number Tip

Call numbers beginning with REF can be found in the Reference area on the third floor of the library.

Biology

A Dictionary of Biology  QH 302.5 .D54 2008

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Bioscience REF QH302.5 .M382 2003

Concise Encyclopedia Biology  REF  QH 302.5 .A2313 1996

Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms  QH 302.5 H65 1995

Botany

The Names of Plants REF QK96 .G54 2008

A Dictionary of Plant Sciences QK9 .C67 2006

Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms  REF  QK 10 .H53 2000

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Botany  REF  QK 9 .C67 1992

Timber Press Dictionary of Plant Names  REF  QK 9 C685 1985

Cell & Molecular Biology

The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology  Online (5th edition) 2013

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology  REF  QP512 .O94 2006

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology REF QR9 .S56 2001

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology  REF  QH 506 .E53 1999

Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology  REF  QD 415 A25 .B713 1997

Encyclopedia of Human Biology  REF  QP 11 .E53 1997

Environmental Science

The Dictionary of Environmental Microbiology REF QR100 .S74 2003

Environmental Encyclopedia  REF  GE 10 .E594 2003

Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science  REF  TD 9 .F33 2001

Blackwell’s Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology  REF  QH 540.4 .B58 1999

Longman Dictionary of Environmental Science  REF  GE 10 .L38 1998

Concise Dictionary of Environmental Engineering  REF  GE 10 .P36 1996

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology  REF  QH 540.4 .E52 1995

Zoology

A Dictionary of Zoology  REF  QL 9 .C66 2009

Handbook of the Mammals of the World REF QL703 .H355 2009

Mammal Species of the World: A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference QL708 .M35 2005

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia  REF  QL 7 .G7813 2003

Smithsonian Book of North American Mammals  REF  QL 715 .S55 1999

Walker's Mammals of the World  REF  QL 703 .N69 1999