Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives

A guide for using the Trinity University Archives

Collection Development

Handmade folder with Archives pasted on in green paper letters

 

The University Archives documents the intellectual, cultural, and organizational history of the university since its founding in 1869. Through official and non-official administrative and departmental records, faculty and alumni papers, records of alumni and student organizations, and university publications, this archives seeks to preserve the evolution of the institution, from the Tehuacana, Waxahachie, and Woodlawn campuses to the present Skyline campus.

 

 

Materials We Collect

The types of materials the University Archives collects include, but are not limited to:

  • Reports, surveys, committee records, and minutes
  • University publications, promotional materials, and catalogs
  • Photographs, negatives, and slides
  • Audio and video recordings
  • Oral histories
  • Documentation of student life, including student organizations and student publications
  • Archival records of departments, offices, and centers
  • Architectural drawings
  • Papers of faculty and alumni
  • Serials, newspapers, and newsletters
  • Books published by Trinity University Press or authored by Trinity faculty
  • Scrapbooks
  • University websites, blogs, e-newsletters, and social media

Current Collecting Strengths

The University Archives has extensive records relating to the presidential tenures of Everett, Laurie, and Calgaard. The archives permanently retains Board of Trustee meeting minutes, official Course of Study Bulletins, and student publications such as the Mirage yearbook, the Trinitonian newspaper, and university publications such as  On Trinity Hill, news releases, and the Trinity Magazine. There is also a sizable amount of photo prints, negatives, and images from the university’s communications office.

Current Collecting Focuses

The University Archives actively seeks to collect materials from under-documented members of the Trinity community, including women, individuals of color, and the LGBTQ community. The University Archives encourages institutional departments and units to work with the repository to develop workflows that ensure ongoing archival transfer of records identified as having permanent historical, evidential, and informational value to the Trinity community.