Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives

A guide for using the Trinity University Archives

Citation Basics - Archival Material

The University Archives contain a wide variety of materials, both published (yearbooks, course of study bulletins, and the Trinitonian) and unpublished (office files, correspondence, photographs). These valuable and unique unpublished materials can often be more difficult to cite than resources you may find in the Coates Library Collection. Regardless, there are a few essential components of a citation. We recommend that you take notes on this information as you work, rather than trying to find it again later. 
 

  1. Item - Information should include title/description, date, creator, and item/page number of the item you are referencing.
    • Example: Letter from James W. Laurie to John R. McFarlin, October 17, 1963
    • Example: Photograph of Board of Trustee member Gilbert Denman, undated
       
  2. Box and Folder - Provide the title, dates, and number listed on the folder and box the item came from.
    • Example: Tennis correspondence, 1963-1964, Box 86-50, Folder 06
       
  3. Collection - Provide the collection name and number, record group, and series the item came from.
    • Example: UA0014, Vice President of University Relations, Leon "Tex" Taylor Records, Correspondence
    • Example: UA0143, Ursula Lauderdale Papers
       
  4. Repository - Provide the name and location of repository where item was found.
    • Example: Coates Library Special Collections & Archives, Trinity University (San Antonio, Texas).

                                                  

Your accumulated information should look something like this:

Letter from James W. Laurie to John R. McFarlin, October 17, 1963. Box 86-50, Folder 06. Vice President of University Relations, Leon "Tex" Taylor Papers, UA 0014,  Series: Development. Coates Library Special Collections & Archives, Trinity University (San Antonio, Texas).

Formatting Your Citation

Once you have all the information necessary for your citation, its format will depend on which citation style you use. Refer to the helpful guide created by the librarians of Coates Library on citation formatting.