Skip to main content

Recommended Spanish Databases - Bases de datos recomendadas para clases de español: Home

A brief listing of key databases to search when conducting research in the fields of Spanish and Latin American language, literature, and culture.

Other Recommended Resources


Project Muse

Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. 

Mango Languages

An online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages.

Real Academia Española (Free online Diccionario of the Royal Spanish Academy, in Madrid) 

As authoritative in the Hispanophone world as the OED is, for English speakers.  Offers detailed glosses of searched words, including information on regional dialects, different registers of usage, etymologies, and all possible alternate meanings.  The interface, including glosses, is in Spanish.

Recommended Databases for Spanish/Hispanic Studies

General databases useful for research in Spanish fields:

MLA International Bibliography

Broad index to critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.  Multi-lingual content.  Coverage is from 1963 to the present.

Fuente Académica (TexShare)

Full-text Spanish language index to over 100 scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.

Chicano Database

Bibliographic resource for Mexican-American topics and Chicano reference.  Extensive coverage from the 1960’s to present; selective coverage dating back to the early 1900’s.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Index to selected scholarly works on Latin America.

HAPI Online

Index to Hispanic American Periodicals.  Coverage is 1970 to the present.

Latino American Experience

Full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.  

 

Jason L. Hardin

Jason Hardin's picture
Jason Hardin
Contact:
Library circulation, room 303B

ext. 8181 (on campus)



Office hours: 2:00pm - 3:00pm, Thursdays; and by appointment