Skip to main content

CLAS 1307: Gender and Identity in the Ancient World: Find Primary Sources

The guide includes sources to help researchers as they begin or continue their work in Dr. Schulz's course.

Sappho: Attic Vase, c. 435 BCE

Early Athenian Coin

Primary Sources in Print in the Library

Coates Library Catalog
Use the
library catalog to search for books on your topic.  Conduct keyword searches using author names, book titles, or particular subjects. You may begin your search using broad terms and keywords, and narrow your results as you find useful information.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum Collection (in print)
The Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum provides access to a collection of images of primarily Greek ancient vases dating from 6,000 B.C. to 400 A.D. from more than 120 collections in 26 countries. Each museum that contributes to the CVA project may or may not include their image collections in the CVA online.  To access print copies of the CVA, visit the Special Collections department in the library.

Visual Primary Sources Available from the Library

ARTstor
ARTstor provides an impressive database of over one million searchable images. Tools in the database enable viewing (or displaying) slides side-by-side, focusing on images using enhanced zoom features, and collecting groups and folders of images for classroom use, research, or assignments. Recently, QTVR files showing 360-degree images of classical sites were added to the collection.  All of the resources available in ARTstor are copyright-cleared for educational and research purposes. 

Primary Sources on the Internet

Perseus Digital Library
Digital library offering access to primary texts, secondary sources, site plans, digital images, and maps.  Also includes word study tools as well as extensive art and archaeology catalogs.

Beazley Archive
Sponsored by Oxford University, this archive includes images and textual resources from more than 20 archival databases, with specific focus on classical gems, pottery, antiquaria, and sculpture.

Diotima
This site provides access to materials for the study of women and gender in the classical world.  Visitors can search for online book reviews, articles, images, and additional information.  A newly added feature includes peer-reviewed articles.