Skip to main content

BIOL 3457 / NEUR 3457: Neurobiology

Databases for Journal Articles

Ready to work? Start here:

  • Scopus.  More than 21,000 peer-reviewed journals and other publications. Note: Scopus does not have article PDFs. Use the LinkSource or View at Publisher links to find PDFs. If the PDFs are not available (or are paywalled), request the material through the library's Interlibrary Loan service.

Need more? Try these science databases with content related to neurobiology:

  • BioMed Central.  A large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals in all areas of biology, medicine, and health.
  • PsycArticles.  Complete access to more than 80 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
  • PsycInfo.  The American Psychological Association's database of peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary literature in behavioral science and mental health. Note: PsycInfo does not have article PDFs. Use the Full Text Finder links to find PDFs. If the PDFs are not available (or are paywalled), request the material through the library's Interlibrary Loan service.
  • PubMed.  The database of the National Library of Medicine, including over 26 million citations for biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.
  • Science Direct.  The online portal for over 3,000 journals published by Elsevier Science. Note: Most of the material in Science Direct is paywalled. Do not pay for articles yourself. Use the full-text request form or the library's Interlibrary Loan services.

Need to be really thorough?  Try these multidisciplinary databases with content related to neurobiology:

  • Google Scholar.  When using Google Scholar, update the settings so you can link to the library's online collections. First, make sure you're signed in to your Trinity email account. Then, at the Google Scholar search page, click Settings, then Library Links, then search for Coates Library, then check the box for Elizabeth Huth Coates Library
  • JSTOR.  A completely full-text archive of scholarly journals and books. Most materials in JSTOR are five years old or older. Select publications are current.
  • Springer Link. The online platform for publications from Springer. Searches over 5 million articles and 3 million book chapters. Note: Most of the material found in Springer Link is paywalled. Do not pay for articles yourself. Request materials through the library's Interlibrary Loan service.

The original mood-altering drug.

Image: "Caffiene" by pinkgeorgia

Reference Managers

Wish there was an app to help track your articles and format citations? You need a reference manager! See the Reference Mangers guide for more info.

 

Image: "Index Card" by Reeding Lessons