Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Speech Subject Guide 

This guide offers suggestions for locating materials related to courses in the Speech department.
Last update: Aug 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.trinity.edu/speech  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Internet Sources             Print Page
  
 

RFK

Image available from wikipedia.org

 
 

Internet Resources

Allyn and Bacon Public Speaking Archive
This listing of links to sites across the web is organized into the following categories:  Speeches for Analysis, Presidential Speechmaking, Supreme Court Oral Argument, Historic Speeches, and News Archives.  A number of the links lack maintenance but the desired page may be reached by reducing the URL to its basic homepage address.

American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank
Created by Michael E. Eidenmuller of UT-Tyler, this comprehensive collection of speeches is searchable using an "I-site" interface powered by Google.  The site includes very recent as well as classical speeches, along with links to other locations that give context to rhetorical works and strategies. 

Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with Examples
From the University of Kentucky Classics Department, this long lasting site offers brief definitions of rhetorical strategies and a number of examples to illustrate the concept.

Great Debate and Beyond: History of Televised Presidential Debates
While the site's audience may not be undergrads, this interactive multimedia "celebration" is packed with resources and possibilities for further reading and research.

Handbook of Rhetorical Devices
Similar to the "Glossary," explanations of these terms are a little more involved, making it useful for those studying these concepts for the first time.

Historical Voices
Sponsored by numerous university projects and housed at Michigan State University, the goal of this digital collection is to present and encourage development of resources that present digital voice files for subjects across the curriculum.  The site is an interesting browse, even if you are not looking for a particular event or speaker.

History Channel:  Speeches
Sponsored by the cable television station, this site offers a large collection of recorded speeches from the 20th century.  The addition of written explanations and the contextualization of the speech make this a particularly valuable site, and more "browsable" when compared to others.  Speeches are organized by the following topics:  Politics/Government, Science/Technology, Arts/Entertainment/ Culture, and War/Diplomacy.

History Place: Great Speeches Collection
Site includes great speeches by a number of historical figures, primarily presidents and religious figures.

Links to Resources: Rhetoric, Philosophy, and Theory
From the University of Iowa, this extensive list of links is organized into a number of categories related to the study of rhetoric.  Consistent maintenance makes this a site you can depend on in future courses or research situations.

Perseus Digital Library
Extensive digital collection of materials with a wide chronological scope, Perseus includes a large number of classical plays as well as texts from the English Renaissance, examples of oratory, and classical/contemporary rhetoric.  While the site focuses on offering primary sources, some secondary sources on historical texts and theater history are included.

Presidential Rhetoric
"This site is devoted to bringing you contemporary information and resources concerning the study of presidential rhetoric."  Site is the combined effort of a number of scholars in the study of rhetoric.

Say It Plain: A Century of Great African-American Speeches
Full-text and audio files of this collection of historic speeches by African-American women and men is sponsored by American Radioworks.

Silva Rhetoricae: The Forest of Rhetoric
One of the first and one of the best sites offering online definitions and guidelines for the study of rhetorical concepts and theories (both classical and contemporary).  Sponsored by Brigham Young University, this site extends the tree as a metaphor for learning and thinking about rhetorical activity.

 
 

JFK

Available from wikipedia.org

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait