General Information
Encyclopedia of Earth
This new
electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and
their interaction with society was started in 2007. The Encyclopedia is
a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars,
professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each
other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and
will be useful to students, educators, scholars, and professionals.
National Library for the Environment
Strong selection of environmental resources, both general and academic, including
on-line journals, reports, laws and treaties.
EnviroLink Library
"The most comprehensive resource of environmental information available on the
Internet.........Information is categorized by types of resources (organizations,
publications, etc.) and environmental topics."
Government Resources
Environmental Protection Agency
The homepage has links to the programs, laws and regulations, offices and labs, and
databases of the EPA plus pages directed to serve the interest of researcher and
scientists, concerned citizens, teachers, and students.
Energy Information Administration
Selected energy statistics compiled by the EIA, the statistical branch of the US
Department of Energy -- covers petroleum, natural gas, coal, nuclear, electricity,
alternate fuels, and renewable sources of energy.
NASA's Global Change Master Directory
Searchable descriptions of data sets relating to global change research -- provides
abstracts on the data, but not the data itself.
National
Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
From biomass to wind,
this provides information and research results in important renewable
energy areas.
Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality
The TCEQ is the lead environmental agency for the state.
Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS)
Searchable collection of 19,000 environmental impact statements,
supported by the Transportation Research Board.
Water Issues
Edwards Aquifer Research and Data Center
This is the home page for the Edwards Aquifer Research and Data Center which is
located at Texas State University in San Marcos. It provides information
on the Edwards Aquifer, which is the water source for the entire San Antonio area. There
are links to general background information and statistics on water usage and recharge, as
well as links to the USGS streamflow data for surface water information.
Drought.gov
This site from the National Integrated Drought Information System monitors U.S. drought conditions, provides forecasts,
and indicates how drought impacts specific areas as well as what mitigation measures may exist.
Gulf of Mexico Foundation
The Foundation "promotes
conservation and preservation of the Gulf of Mexico through voluntary and
cooperative stewardship by individuals, communities, and economic
enterprises of the United States and Mexico."
This site provides information about areas along the Gulf coast and programs
being used to monitor and manage them.
Universities Council on
Water Resources
The Council's site provides access to information related to education,
research, and public service in water resources.
Humans and the Environment
Environmental Literacy in America
A 2005 report from the National Environmental Education & Training Foundation (NEETF)
reflecting 10 years of NEEFT/Roper research on environmental literacy in the U.S.
Native Americans and the Environment
From the National Council for Science and the
Environment, this site provides bibliographic and on-line resources for environmental issues facing
Native Americans and the relationship Native Americans have to the environment.
Not all links have been maintained.
UT-LANIC (University of Texas Latin American
Network Information Center)
Includes extensive Internet links on the indigenous populations of Latin America with
additional information on environmentally sound development in each country.
World Wide Web Virtual Library:
Indigenous Studies
Starting point for internet research on indigenous peoples worldwide
Journal of Political
Ecology
JPE is a peer reviewed journal begun in 1994 that welcomes submissions in
English, French and Spanish from a broad range of disciplines and hopes to encourage
research into the linkages between political economy and human environmental impacts. It
is provided free and supported by the Political Ecology Society (PESO).
Librarian Information |
Barbara MacAlpineRoom 316 Coates Library (next to the Help Desk)
210-999-7343
Send Email
Subjects:
biology, chemistry, engineering science, environmental studies, geosciences, mathematics, and physics/astronomy
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait