Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Biology Subject Guide 

This guide will help you locate information in the biological sciences. The materials may also be of use for research in the related areas of environmental science and engineering, biotechnology, medicine, and agriculture.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.trinity.edu/biology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Internet Resources             Print Page
  
 
 

Starting Points

The following sites are great starting points to use for locating lots of other biological information on the Internet:

BiologyBrowser (assembled by BIOSIS)

Biology Links (Harvard University's Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology)

Cell & Molecular Biology Online

 

Internet Sites

Tree of Life - "The Tree of Life is a collection of World Wide Web pages that present information about the world's organisms. Each page presents information about a particular group."

Human Genome Research Institute - This U.S. government site provides excellent general research information on genetics and bioethics.

PLANTS National Database Home Page - "The PLANTS Database provides a single source of standardized information about plants. PLANTS provides standardized plant names, symbols and other plant attribute information."

American Society for Microbiology - The ASM is the oldest and largest single life science membership organization in the world with over 40,000 members worldwide. This site gives full information about the organization and its activities. The section on "ASM Programs, Products, and Services" allows access to browse current tables of contents of the twelve journals published by ASM.

Biological Resources Discipline - USGS - The Biological Resources Discipline of USGS web page provides access to the National Biological Information Infrastructure. "The NBII will provide information on and access to biological databases, information products, directories and guides maintained by Federal, State, and local government agencies, and private organizations."

Encyclopedia of Earth
This new electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society was started in 2007. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, and professionals.

Smithsonian Natural History Web Home Page - In addition to descriptions of current exhibits and programs, this web page provides access to the research and collections databases supporting activities of the National Museum of Natural History.

Darwin Online - "This site contains Darwin's complete publications, 20,000 private papers, the largest Darwin bibliography, manuscript catalogue and hundreds of supplementary works: specimens, biographies, obituaries, reviews, reference works and much more."

InfoNatura:  Birds, Mammals, and Amphibians of Latin America - A resource for conservation, distribution, and taxonomic information on over 8,500 bird, mammal, and amphibian species in 44 Latin American and Caribbean countries.

Electronic BIOLOGIA CENTRALI-AMERICANA - This digital edition of the out-of-print Biologia Centrali-Americana, now more than 100 years old, will eventually make all 58 biological volumes available.  Included are descriptions of over 50,000 and wonderful images of over 18,000 species of animals and plants from Mexico and Central America.

GrantsNet - A searchable database that provides information on biomedical grants and fellowships for graduate and undergraduate students as well as junior faculty and postdoctoral fellows.

Allen Brain Atlas - Developed by the Allen Institute for Brain Science, the Allen Brain Atlas is a freely available scientific resource which provides maps of the expression of approximately 20,000 genes in the mouse brain.  This site also includes images of genes in the human cortex.

BirdLife International: State of the World's Birds - Important research papers featured on this site are divided into four sections that include an introduction and three additional sections that cover why birds are declining, the current state of information about bird populations, and what can be done to improve the status of birds around the world.

Frogs: A Chorus of Colors - Enjoy the sights and sounds of a major exhibition on frogs, produced by the American Museum of Natural History.

Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine Allows searching for molecular biology information from a subset of Medline and the National Center for Biotechnology Information's protein and nucleotide databases.

 

Visualization and Animation

These last three sites are samples of the use of 3D visualization and animation in modern biological teaching. You may need to load special helper applications for the sound and movies that are used in many of these productions.

Biology in Motion -- provides interactive education activities such as Evolution Lab, to investigate how natural selection works, and a Cell Division exercise.  Useful for teachers working in classrooms at the elementary or secondary level.

LBL IYTG Whole Frog Project -- from the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

Netfrog -- from the Instructional Technology Program, Department of

 

Librarian Information

Profile ImageBarbara MacAlpine
Contact Info:
Room 316 Coates Library (next to the Help Desk)
210-999-7343
Send Email

Subjects:
biology, chemistry, engineering science, environmental studies, geosciences, mathematics, and physics/astronomy

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait