Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Modern Languages and Literatures - Subject Guide 

This subject guide offers suggestions as you begin or continue your research related to modern languages and literatures. This guide includes sections for French, Spanish, German, Russian, Italian, as well as general resources.
Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.trinity.edu/content.php?pid=28962  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Modern Languages and Literatures             Print Page
  
 

Modern Languages

 
 

Modern Languages and Literatures

If you have questions about language-specific research or materials, contact one of the following liaison librarians for Modern Languages and Literatures:

Chinese:  Bea Caraway (bcaraway@trinity.edu)

French, German, and Other: Benjamin Harris (Benjamin.Harris@Trinity.edu)

Spanish and Italian: Jason Hardin (Jason.Hardin@Trinity.edu)

Russian: Jane Costanza (jcostanz@trinity.edu)

 

Find Articles

MLA International Bibliography
Major citation index to critical scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Some full-text articles.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online: Chinese, French, German, Spanish, Russian and Italian
The Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers essential language resources online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

Gale Literary Databases
Basic resource for background information on authors and works of literature. Includes the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary  Literary Criticism. Biographical information on modern authors and significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, and short story writers from all eras and genres.

Academic Search Complete
This database includes indexing, abstracts, and full-text linking for a large number of publications in the social sciences, arts, humanities, and other fields.

Humanities Abstracts
Index to popular and scholarly periodicals and books; contains limited amount of full text. Covers archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, food, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, space, world history, and world literature.

JSTOR
Full-text article back file of scholarly journals, 1995 and prior, covering a wide variety of subjects, including African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, history, literature, philosophy, political science, etc.

Project Muse
Full-text scholarly journals from various University Presses that cover literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies and more.  Most journals are only full text back to the late 1990's.
 

 

Your Guide

Profile ImageBenjamin R. Harris

Subject Guide

Profile ImageValerie Cortinas
 

Learn a Language Online!

MANGO LANGUAGES

Use this online language-learning system to develop conversational skills in numerous languages (French, Spanish, Italian, Mandarin Chinese, Brazilian Portuguese, Greek, Japanese, German, Russian, Polish, and ESL languages).

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait