Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Government Information  Tags: government information gov docs research  

This guide will help you locate government information on a variety of topics and information about the government.
Last update: Jun 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.trinity.edu/govinfo  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Online Resources             Print Page
  

The Library Catalog

Did you know that you can use The Library Catalog to find online Government Documents?

Many recently published Government Documents listed in The Library Catalog at Trinity are actually available online.

Those that are available online will have a URL in the item record.

Watch the following video if you have any questions.

Government Information & The Media

Government information is often referred to in the media, but sometimes without proper context or complete accuracy.

When presented with a claim from the media that cites government information and seems dubious, do the right thing, go out and find that data for yourself.

 

Online Resources

This is NOT a complete listing of resources for finding Government Information.

There are too many to include all of them in one place.

These are some of the best and most useful for undergraduate students.

If you have any questions, or need more specialized resources, don't hesitate to contact me.

  • GPO Access  
      
    The main website of the U.S. Government Printing Office. Includes the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications and a great deal of information on U.S. documents. Includes documents from all branches of government.
  • GPO Access: Core Documents of U.S. Democracy  
      
    One of the best places to start any search. Provides an overview of, and links to, some of the most important documents related to the United States of America and its history.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications  
      
    This is the GPO's Online Catalog. Includes records for documents after 1976. For documents before 1976, use the print edition of The Monthly Catalog. Be sure to note the list of "Catalogs to Search" and "Browse" links at the top of the screen.
  • Library of Congress: THOMAS  
    THOMAS is a database for Congressional Research. It includes full texts of Bills, Resolutions, and Laws. It also includes The Congressional Record, Committee Reports, Presidential Nominations, Treaties, and Roll Call Votes.
  • Census Bureau Homepage  
      
    Provides links to a wealth of data compiled by the Census Bureau. Includes Census 2000 data and the American Factfinder database.
  • GPO Access: Search Across Multiple Databases  
      
    Search specific databases maintained by the GPO. This is a better tool to use than the general catalog when you know what you're looking for and don't want so many results.
  • Library of Congress: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873  
      
    A great resource for full text copies of many hard to find primary documents. Includes Journals of the Continental Congress, Bills and Resolutions, Statutes at Large, The American State Papers, The U.S. Serial Set, The Congressional Record, and more.
  • USA.gov: List of Government Departments and Agencies  
      
    One of the biggest challenges in finding Government Information is often identifying the government body responsible for collecting and disseminating the data you need. This is a great list to start with.
  • LSU Libraries Federal Agencies Directory  
      
    Louisiana State University Library's online directory of Federal Agencies and Departments.
  • Presidental Library & Museum Websites  
      
    A comprehensive listing of the websites of the libraries and museums of the past Presidents. These websites often include online copies of documents and other materials that would be helpful for research.
  • USA.gov  
      
    The most general portal for information from the government. Divided by subject of interest. It may not always be easy to find what you're looking for right away, the site is huge, so take your time.
  • Science.gov  
      
    Locate and view U.S. Government Documents related to science. Also includes a wealth of links to other sources of information and the agencies that produce them.
  • Library of Congress: American Memory Project  
      
    A wealth of primary source material on a variety of topics. Some of the most useful topics include: "Government, Law" and "Presidents."
  • GORDOT: Frequently Used Sites Related to U.S. Federal Government Information  
      
    List of helpful websites that provide government information, compiled by GODORT (Government Documents Roundtable).
  • The American Presidency Project  
      
    A wide ranging collection of resources related to the Presidency. Maintained by The University of California at Santa Barbara.
  • University of Wisconsin Libraries - Foreign Relations of the U.S.  
      
    The good people at the University of Wisconsin Libraries have digitized FRUS reports from 1861-1958/1960. That's 373 volumes of goodness. Be sure to thank them if you should ever get the chance!
  • Library's Old Government Information Page  
      
    Trinity's original government information page. Still accessible, just not from the homepage.
  • CyberCemetery - Defunct .gov websites  
      
    This is an online archive of old government websites. It is maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries.
 

Contact Info

Profile ImageSteven Hoover
Contact Info:
Coates Library - 315
(210) 999-8168
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, Political Science, Psychology, Urban Studies, Government Information

 

Meebo

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait