Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Spatial Information Resources 

This guide will help you find spatial data (with an emphasis on Geographic Information System (GIS) data), online maps, and static maps, as well as resources for teaching and learning with spatial information.
Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.trinity.edu/spatial_data  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Interactive Maps             Print Page
  
 

Online Applications

ArcGIS Explorer
A free, downloadable digital globe, compatible with GIS data formats and .kml files. Offers some tools for spatial analysis. A variety of basemaps are available here.

Google Earth
"Google Earth combines satellite imagery, maps and the power of Google Search to put the world's geographic information at your fingertips." Site allows download of free version.

Google Earth Hacks
A repository for the sharing of techniques and Google Earth-compatible .kml files submitted by adroit users--not to be missed.

Tobin Global Planner GIS Data (Texas A&M)
"The Global Planner is a set of detailed topographic maps and vector data covering the populated land areas of the world. These maps provide detailed elevation, culture, population, and geodetic information about the surface of the land, the shorelines, and near shore bathymetry."

National Geographic's Map Machine
Fast map viewer includes a variety of theme maps (e.g. earthquakes, world population density.)

This Dynamic Planet
"World Map of Volcanoes, Earthquakes, Impact Craters, and Plate Tectonics."

Globalis
"Globalis is an interactive world atlas where you decide what is to be displayed on the map. Globalis aims to create an understanding for similarities and differences in human societies, as well as how we influence life on the planet."

World Mapper
"World Mapper is a collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest." Includes downloadable data sets.

Mapping and Analysis for Public Safety (MAPS)
From the Department of Justice, "A program to advance applied and basic research involving the spatial analysis of crime." Free downloadable applications include CrimeStat III.

Mapping Globalization
From Princeton University and the University of Washington, an interactive site featuring maps, narratives, data and analysis of globalization.

MLA Language Map
"The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States."

National Atlas of the United States
Includes a number of interactive map viewers.

National Map
From USGS, "The Nation's Topographic Map for the 21st Century."

PovertyMap
Includes "a global spatial database of poverty mapping examples and possible indicators" as well as a searchable collection of related links and literature.

DiversityData.org
"...allows visitors to explore how metropolitan areas throughout the U.S. perform on a diverse range of social measures that comprise a well-rounded life experience.

Social Explorer
"Social Explorer is dedicated to providing demographic information in an easily understood format: data maps. We have created hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States."

CensusScope
From the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan, "an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends."

 

Contact Me!

Profile ImageJeremy Donald
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait