Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Spatial Information Resources 

This guide will help you find spatial data (with an emphasis on Geographic Information System (GIS) data), online maps, and static maps, as well as resources for teaching and learning with spatial information.
Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.trinity.edu/spatial_data  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Local & State Data             Print Page
  
 

Search Portals

GIS Data Depot
"Numerous data holdings available for free download" from The GeoCommunity™

ESRI's Geography Network
Many downloadable data layers are available online. Data can be accessed interactively when using ArcView 9.x by using the Get Data --> Geography Network path.

Harvard Geospatial Library

Stanford University's webpage for digital GIS data.

National & International GIS data
From the University of Arkansas libraries, a country list of GIS data sources.

GeoData.gov U.S. Maps and Data
"Your one stop for Federal, state, and local geographic data." Includes feature topics (i.e., Fire Mapping) and a map viewer.

National Spatial Data Clearinghouse
Searchable collection of over 250 spatial data servers, that have digital geographic data primarily for use in Geographic Information Systems.

USGS Earth Resources Observation & Science (EROS)
"A leading source of land information for exploring our changing planet."

GIS Data Finder
From UNC Chapel Hill, "a large collection of data sets, each of which is made up of potentially many individual data layers. The GIS Data Finder allows our patrons to browse our collection in several ways."

(edit text Add/edit text for this content box

 
 

Local/State Data & Downloads

CommunityInfo for Education
Compiles SF3 Census variables into single nationwide layers down to the blockgroup level. Variables include demographics such as
school enrollment, educational attainment, citizenship, language spoken at home, industry, occupation, and journey to work, housing units, house value. Basic demographics include total population, age, and race. (CDs stored in the Government Documents CD-Rom cabinet--ask librarian for assistance.) Bexar Co. data available on network repository. National Data available on DVD (email jdonald@trinity.edu).

Bexar County Parcel Data
From the Bexar County Appraisal District, 2006 parcel data for the county, along with additional attribute fields. Available on network repository.

Government Document CD-ROMs
An online guide to Trinity Coates Library's collection of Government CD-ROMs on topics such as health statistics, the U.S. Census, crime, education, and the U.S.G.S.

State & National, and International download sites

Texas Map and Data Files
From the Texas General Land Office, a wealth of coverage (.e00) and shapefiles (.shp) on boundaries, hydrography, coastal land use, and more.

Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data
From ESRI: "GIS users can download Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data in shapefile format for an area of interest. Users can choose multiple data layers for a single county or a single data layer for multiple counties and analyze them using GIS software such as ArcGIS." A good place to get shapefiles of census data associated with Bexar Co. geographies, e.g., "race and ethnicity data at the block level."

1990-2006 TIGER/Line Data from ICPSR
Census geographies no longer available from the U.S. Census website. NOT IN SHAPEFILE FORMAT.

Census Cartographic Boundary Files
See Descriptions & Metadata for file information.

Texas State Data Center Texas Census 2000 Shapefiles
From the Texas State Data Center, a collection of TIGER/Line files from the 108th CD Census 2000. Download shapefiles at the State and County levels.

TCEQ: Texas Commission on Environmental Quality GIS page
A variety of GIS tools and data related to the Texas environment.

Texas Natural Resources Information System Digital Downloads
"Use this website to download 1 meter resolution DOQQs for the entire state of Texas. You can also download available 2.5 meter DOQQs, DRGs, TxDOT, DEMs, Hillshades, and more." National Agriculture Imagery Project (NAIP) data by quad is available here.

Census 2000 Data for Texas
From the U.S. Census Bureau's American FactFinder.

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait