Librarian Information
ACS
If you just need articles, you can search through the ACS Journals.
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Journals included are Accounts of Chemical Research, ACS Catalysis, ACS Nano, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Reviews, Environmental Science & Technology, Inorganic Chemistry, Journal of Chemical Education, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Langmuir, Nano Letters, Organic Letters, and The Journal of Organic Chemistry.
Scifinder-n Scholar
You can also find articles in Scifinder Scholar. It also includes reference information for substances, including chemical properties. Both of these skills will be used in future experiments.
Before using Scifinder, please register here.
- Scifinder-n Scholar This link opens in a new window
Contains scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, and agricultural science.
Tips:
- In reference search, focus on specific document types more likely to be primary sources. On the search results page, select clinical trial, conference, journal, and report from the left-hand tool bar.
- Note: Select each limiter (i.e. clinical trial or conference) one at a time and wait for the results to reload before choosing another limiter.
- On the search results page, the Sort by options can be helpful. Select Publication Year: Newest to get the most recent articles at the top of the list. Select Times Cited to get the most cited articles at the top of the list.
- Read the abstract for descriptions that indicate the article is a primary source.
- SciFinder-n Scholar is not a full-text database. It does not include article PDFs. Use the Full Text button to help find full text. See below in another box for more information.
Finding PDFs from SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is not a full-text database. It does not include article PDFs for download. It does, however, link to the library's Full Text Finder to help you find the articles.
In SciFinder, click the Full Text button found on the search results page under each article title and select Trinity U. Library.
The Full Text Finder will list options for getting the PDF of an article. The example below shows every option. Not all options will be available for every article. These are the options you want to look for:
- Resources Located for this Citation. These will be links to the library's subscriptions available in databases or the publisher's website. The links should go directly to the article you need.
- Open Access. This searches for the article in free Open Access databases. Success depends on availability.
- Document Delivery. These are pay-per-download options. The library will cover the download cost for you. Please use only as needed.
- Request via Interlibrary Loan. Even if none of the above options are available, this will be. We can always request scans of articles from other libraries.
