Skip to main content

Spatial Information Resources: U.S. & Internat'l Data

This guide will help you find spatial data (with an emphasis on Geographic Information System (GIS) data), online maps, and static maps, as well as resources for teaching and learning with spatial information.

Search Portals

ArcGIS Online
A portal for user-submitted data and maps, with many public and academic contributors. Includes data, map services, and (sometimes) metadata. 
 Data can be accessed interactively when using ArcMap by using Add Data --> Add Data from ArcGIS Online and performing a search within the ArcGIS Online pop-up window.

GIS Online Data (Texas A&M)
Local, Texas cities, counties, and state-level data discovery tool.

GIS Data Depot
"Numerous data holdings available for free download" from The GeoCommunity™

Harvard Geospatial Library

Stanford University's webpage for digital GIS data.

National & International GIS data
From the University of Arkansas libraries, a country list of GIS data sources.

GeoData.gov U.S. Maps and Data
"Your one stop for Federal, state, and local geographic data." Includes feature topics (i.e., Fire Mapping) and a map viewer.

National Spatial Data Clearinghouse
Searchable collection of over 250 spatial data servers, that have digital geographic data primarily for use in Geographic Information Systems.

USGS Earth Resources Observation & Science (EROS)
"A leading source of land information for exploring our changing planet."

GIS Data Finder
From UNC Chapel Hill, "a large collection of data sets, each of which is made up of potentially many individual data layers. The GIS Data Finder allows our patrons to browse our collection in several ways."

U.S. Nation-wide Data Sources

National

Community Analyst Online (http://communityanalyst.esri.com/)* 
Access thousands of demographic, Census, health, crime, and business variables using
 standard geographies (down to the Census block group level), hand-drawn shapes, or rings or drive times around a location.

Business Analyst Online (http://bao.esri.com)*
Esri Business Analyst combines demographic and business data, detailed maps, and advanced spatial analytics with your own data to help you answer the "where" questions. Data includes consumer spending, market potential, traffic data, and business locations. Produces maps and reports. 

*Requires special link to access via Trinity's site license. Please email jdonald@trinity.edu to request access. 

ESRI Data DVDs

Includes:

  • ESRI 2011/2016 Updated Demographics: 2011 estimates and 5-year projections for population, households, income, and housing; delivered in Census 2010 geographic boundaries. 
  • ESRI 2011 Consumer Spending: Consumer spending patterns for a variety of goods and services, including apparel, food, financial services, household goods, and recreation; delivered in Census 2010 geographic boundaries. 
  • ESRI 2011 Tapestry: Lifestyle data for US residential neighborhoods based on socioeconomic and demographic characteristics delivered in Census 2010 geographic boundaries. 
  • 2010 Census: Complete population counts from Census 2010 combining the PL94-171 file and variables from Summary File 1 (SF-1); delivered in Census 2010 geographic boundaries.  

Available on the Campus Network on the Software drive: Software/Library/GisData/2012_ESRI_Data. 

Geo.Data.gov
A great source of shapefiles from federal sources. Use the data.gov and geodata tabs to search for spatial datasets, then drag them into the text box at the top to preview them in a map viewer.

NationalAtlas.gov
A Raw Data ftp site of a wide variety of national data layers.

EPA Geospatial Data Access Project
"
The EPA Geospatial Data Access Project provides a downloadable files of these facilities or sites in the following formats; extensible markup language (XML) file, keyhole markup language (KML) file, ESRI Shapefile and ESRI Feature Class. Within the file is key facility information, along with associated environmental interests for use in mapping and reporting applications."

International Data Sources

Subject Guide

Chris Nolan's picture
Chris Nolan
Contact:
325E Coates Library
(administrative suite)

Office hours:
M & Tu 3:00-4:30, Th 3:30-4:30
& by appointment or drop-in

210.999.7429
Website / Blog Page