Skip to main content

Spatial Information Resources

This guide will help you find spatial data (with an emphasis on Geographic Information System (GIS) data), online maps, and static maps, as well as resources for teaching and learning with spatial information.

Search Portals

ArcGIS Online
A portal for user-submitted data and maps, with many public and academic contributors. Includes data, map services, and (sometimes) metadata. 
 Data can be accessed interactively when using ArcMap by using Add Data --> Add Data from ArcGIS Online and performing a search within the ArcGIS Online pop-up window.

GIS Online Data (Texas A&M)
Local, Texas cities, counties, and state-level data discovery tool.

GIS Data Depot
"Numerous data holdings available for free download" from The GeoCommunity™

Harvard Geospatial Library

Stanford University's webpage for digital GIS data.

National & International GIS data
From the University of Arkansas libraries, a country list of GIS data sources.

GeoData.gov U.S. Maps and Data
"Your one stop for Federal, state, and local geographic data." Includes feature topics (i.e., Fire Mapping) and a map viewer.

National Spatial Data Clearinghouse
Searchable collection of over 250 spatial data servers, that have digital geographic data primarily for use in Geographic Information Systems.

USGS Earth Resources Observation & Science (EROS)
"A leading source of land information for exploring our changing planet."

GIS Data Finder
From UNC Chapel Hill, "a large collection of data sets, each of which is made up of potentially many individual data layers. The GIS Data Finder allows our patrons to browse our collection in several ways."

Local/State Data & Downloads

Local & County

Alamo Area Geospatial Committee Open Data Repository
A fantastic source for various San Antonio-area data sources, including City of San Antonio, TX-DOT, Bexar County, and local Census and political boundaries. "A regional consortium of geospatial service providers whose purpose is providing strategic direction in facilitating or addressing geospatial services and projects, coordinating technical standards, and administering fiscal resources."

City of San Antonio GIS Data Download Page
A variety of layers including City Council districts, neighborhood associations, parks, and libraries. 

City of San Antonio Zoning Data
2014 COSA zoning data available in geodatabase and shapefile format. Available on network repository.

Bexar County Parcel Data
From the Bexar County Appraisal District
2005-2012 parcel data for the county, along with additional attribute fields. Available on network repository.

Bexar County Maps
Various Bexar County maps and layers. Selected list below. 

Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
Includes more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.

State & National

 

Census 2010 TIGER/Line Data
GIS users can download Census 2010 TIGER/Line Data in shapefile format for an area of interest. 

Texas G.L.O. Map and Data Files
From the Texas General Land Office, a wealth of coverage (.e00) and shapefiles (.shp) on boundaries, hydrography, coastal land use, and more.

TCEQ: Texas Commission on Environmental Quality GIS page
A variety of GIS tools and data related to the Texas environment.

Texas Natural Resources Information System Data Search and Download
Includes hydrology, transportation, boundaries, land use, and the Texas Gazateer. 

Census 2010 Data for Texas
From the Texas State Data Center.

Digital Atlas of Texas Counties
A good source for downloadable basic GIS layers of features, boundaries, elevation, and imagery.