Skip to main content

Spatial Information Resources: Home

This guide will help you find spatial data (with an emphasis on Geographic Information System (GIS) data), online maps, and static maps, as well as resources for teaching and learning with spatial information.

About

Looking for GIS data, software, interactive maps, and traditional static maps? Use the tabs above to find links to various sources at the local, state, national, and international levels.

Trinity University has an ESRI educational site license, and ArcGIS 10.3.1 is installed on all library and lab computers. Student personal licenses are available upon request. ArcGIS Online, ESRI's cloud-based GIS service, is also part of the Trinity site license, with limited availability for classroom and research applications. 

If you have any questions about spatial information sources or would like to see a resource added to this page, please contact Jeremy Donald

Search Portals

ArcGIS Online
A portal for user-submitted data and maps, with many public and academic contributors. Includes data, map services, and (sometimes) metadata. 
 Data can be accessed interactively when using ArcMap by using Add Data --> Add Data from ArcGIS Online and performing a search within the ArcGIS Online pop-up window.

GIS Online Data (Texas A&M)
Local, Texas cities, counties, and state-level data discovery tool.

GIS Data Depot
"Numerous data holdings available for free download" from The GeoCommunity™

Harvard Geospatial Library

Stanford University's webpage for digital GIS data.

National & International GIS data
From the University of Arkansas libraries, a country list of GIS data sources.

GeoData.gov U.S. Maps and Data
"Your one stop for Federal, state, and local geographic data." Includes feature topics (i.e., Fire Mapping) and a map viewer.

National Spatial Data Clearinghouse
Searchable collection of over 250 spatial data servers, that have digital geographic data primarily for use in Geographic Information Systems.

USGS Earth Resources Observation & Science (EROS)
"A leading source of land information for exploring our changing planet."

GIS Data Finder
From UNC Chapel Hill, "a large collection of data sets, each of which is made up of potentially many individual data layers. The GIS Data Finder allows our patrons to browse our collection in several ways."

Quick Links

ArcGIS Online
A portal for user-submitted data and maps, with many public and academic contributors. Includes data, map services, and (sometimes) metadata.*

Alamo Area Geospatial Committee Open Data Repository
A fantastic source for various San Antonio-area data sources, including City of San Antonio, TX-DOT, Bexar County, and local Census and political boundaries. "A regional consortium of geospatial service providers whose purpose is providing strategic direction in facilitating or addressing geospatial services and projects, coordinating technical standards, and administering fiscal resources."

Community Analyst Online (http://communityanalyst.esri.com/)* 
Access thousands of demographic, Census, health, crime, and business variables using
 standard geographies (down to the Census block group level), hand-drawn shapes, or rings or drive times around a location.

Business Analyst Online (http://bao.esri.com)*
Esri Business Analyst combines demographic and business data, detailed maps, and advanced spatial analytics with your own data to help you answer the "where" questions. Data includes consumer spending, market potential, traffic data, and business locations. Produces maps and reports. 
*Requires special link to access via Trinity's site license. Please email jdonald@trinity.edu to request access. 

EarthWorks
A spatial data discovery tool from Stanford University Libraries, this searches across the spatial data repositories of 9 major research institutions, including Harvard, Tufts, Columbia University, and University of Minnesota. 

PolicyMap
A library-subscribed database which maps a broad variety of socio-economic and community data down to Census tracts and block groups. Created by The Reinvestment Fund, a community revitalization organization, this source includes health, economic, food, home sales, and transportation data along with Census and American Community Survey data. 

ESRI Data DVDs

Includes:

  • ESRI 2011/2016 Updated Demographics: 2011 estimates and 5-year projections for population, households, income, and housing; delivered in Census 2010 geographic boundaries. 
  • ESRI 2011 Consumer Spending: Consumer spending patterns for a variety of goods and services, including apparel, food, financial services, household goods, and recreation; delivered in Census 2010 geographic boundaries. 
  • ESRI 2011 Tapestry: Lifestyle data for US residential neighborhoods based on socioeconomic and demographic characteristics delivered in Census 2010 geographic boundaries. 
  • 2010 Census: Complete population counts from Census 2010 combining the PL94-171 file and variables from Summary File 1 (SF-1); delivered in Census 2010 geographic boundaries.  
  • Current US base maps and surface features, including streets, hydrography, and landmarks. 
  • Current Census boundaries and symbolized Census 2010 variables
  • SElected European demographic data. 
  • World political and administrative boundaries, features, and basemaps. 

Available on the Campus Network on the Software drive: Software/Library/GisData/2012_ESRI_Data. 

The 2010 Census Geographic Products
A resource for geographic and cartographic products related to the release of the 2010 Census. 

Updated Geographic Change Notes – Census 2000 – January 1, 2010

Geographic Comparability File –Places – http://www.census.gov/geo/www/2010census/places/allplaces.html 

TIGER/Line Shapefiles – national update including Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas and other related Statistical Areas, Military Installations, Tribal Census Tracts, and Tribal Block Groups –http://www.census.gov/geo/www/tiger/tgrshp2010/tgrshp2010.html 

2010 Census to Census 2000 Census Tract Relationship File – http://www.census.gov/geo/www/2010census/tract_rel/tract_rel.html 

Centers of Population – http://www.census.gov/geo/www/2010census/centerpop2010/centerpop2010.html 

 

Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data
From ESRI: "GIS users can download Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data in shapefile format for an area of interest. Users can choose multiple data layers for a single county or a single data layer for multiple counties and analyze them using GIS software such as ArcGIS." A good place to get shapefiles of census data associated with Bexar Co. geographies, e.g., "race and ethnicity data at the block level."

City of San Antonio Interactive Maps & Downloads:

GeoData.gov
A great source of shapefiles from federal sources. Use the data.gov and geodata tabs to search for spatial datasets, then drag them into the text box at the top to preview them in a map viewer.

 GPSVisualizer Site will generate XY data from a tab-delimited address list, show points on a map, and create spreadsheet ofr use with a GIS or a kml file for use in Google Earth.
 

GIS Liaison

Chris Nolan's picture
Chris Nolan
Contact:
325E Coates Library
(administrative suite)

Office hours:
M & Tu 3:00-4:30, Th 3:30-4:30
& by appointment or drop-in

210.999.7429
Website / Blog Page